Back at work

Unfortunately men only get three days of paternity leave, so I wasn’t able to spend nearly as long as I wanted to bonding with Sky.

I went back to work on Monday. Today is only Wednesday and it already feels like the longest working week ever. I just long to be home with her, talking to her, cuddling her, reading her stories, singing silly songs.

I’m determined the time I do have with her will be quality time. Today before going to work I made her a bottle and read her Dr Seuss’s If I Ran the Zoo, full of all it’s nonsense rhymes and made-up creatures. She really seemed to enjoy it – regardless of whether it made any sense to her.

I know it’s important for me to be at work, so we can earn the money for all the nappies, bottles and other necessities, and to start saving for her future school fees.

But I still wish I could spend everyday with her. Oh well, we’re halfway through the week. Weekend’s almost here.

2 thoughts on “Back at work

  1. Three days paternity leave is downright nasty! Utter discrimination… Luckily my husband works at Sonke Gender Justice as the director of the Fatherhood Programme… you guessed it: he’s getting 1 month!! Good luck and hope that you spend lots of time with her over every weekend!

Leave a Reply

