Being a mommy vs everything else

It’s sounds dramatic but it’s actually true. When we made the decision to have Sky we had to choose between my family and Sky. Sky won…

It was a difficult decision to make. Choosing between your mother and a baby that you don’t have yet is most probably the most difficult decision I ever had to make. But I knew in my heart that it’s the right thing to do. Looking at her now, sleeping here with me, I would choose her a million times over again.

She has enriched our lives so much and brought out the most sensitive and beautiful side to our relationship.

And yes I do still miss my family and keep on praying that one day they will except Sky. But we are so thankful for all the love that we are receiving from everybody. Our friends really made such a difference and when we had to explain to the social worker why Sky would only have one set of grandparents she was more than happy with the amount of support and love we are getting from all of you.

I realize that we are still going to get a lot of resistance from some family and even some of those who pretend to be our friends. But we are working through it all and at the end of the day we know we will only have our real friends surrounding us.

Sky has brought so much laughter into our lives. We are so blessed and enriched. So when asked if I would choose her over everything else, my answer will be – I already did.

3 thoughts on “Being a mommy vs everything else

  1. Family is not always the same blood running through your veins… Sky is already family to us and we love her and you unconditionally!

  2. I have enjoyed reading your blog and sharing the love and joy you have found. I am so sad that you were forced to make such an awful choice, but you chose love and generosity and compassion and hope and the future. I hope your family catches up with you one day and learns from your wisdom and love.

Leave a Reply

