When your baby is not totally perfect

We all believe our babies are perfect. And we all want to have the best for our children. So how do you handle it when you get a report that your little diva has “Low muscle tone” and that she will need weekly therapy. Yes I cried. Yes I was devastated. But I never allow myself to dwell on things that can’t be fixed and if something can be fix, we fix it..

I just quickly want to add something here – As an adoptive parent you sometimes worry that you won’t have the same parental instincts as biological parents. But this again proved it wrong. A lot of people told me that I’m overreacting.. All children have their own time and she will crawl / move when she is ready for it. But my gut told me this is more. I knew that there was something else wrong.

Now we work on the solution. She will see the OT (Occupational Therapist) once a week. She will start swimming lessons soon. We are just in the research phase at the moment and I’m sure we will find a swim school that will suit our needs (Goodness I’ve not been in water in years! This should be interesting. Bring on the diet)

For those who don’t have an idea what this means, a quick summary:

My child has been diagnosed with low muscle tone. What does this mean?
Who gets a diagnosis of low muscle tone?
An infant or child will get a diagnosis of low muscle tone when:
• The muscles appear to be less firm than usual • The child appears to be floppy and to have loose joints • The child appears to be less alert and have poor posture and attention
For a more technical discussion please see webmanual.skillsforaction.com/low-muscle-tone
The difficulties experienced by children that lead to diagnosis of low muscle tone
• May be late learning to sit and walk – but not always • Have trouble sitting erect and working at a table – tend to sit with back rounded, may lean on one hand when drawing and writing • Have difficulty sitting still, tend to fidget, not complete school tasks • Have difficulties with handwriting and drawing • May t ire very quickly , not like walking far, have trouble going up stairs • May be good at games that involve short bursts of running, but have difficulty with posture in sitting, drawing and handwriting – these tasks require sustained activity in the postural muscles • Sit between legs on floor (w-sitting) , do not like cross legged sitting • Appear to have poor attention span or concentration, give up easily • Cannot hang on the monkey bars, do not like climbing on the jungle gym, are fearful

 

3 thoughts on “When your baby is not totally perfect

  1. My son has low muscle tone-was devisated when I found out…but then I was told that Michael phelps has low muscle tone,as do many olympic gymnasts-and suddenly I realised that the sky is still the limit-we know the limitatons he is “supposedly” going to have but he doesn’t! He is now 4 years old and does everything that his friends do-he does climb on the monkey bars,loves his swimming lessons(michael phelps 2??;-)) and loves any sport which involves a ball…he has to work harder that the other kids to get some of these things right, but he doesn’t know that and just keeps going and, for now, he is keeping up and really enjoying himself doing them.From the sound of things your beautiful little bundle of Joy is going to have that same grit & determination.:-)

  2. I know that feeling! My paed recently told me there is a possibility of my adopted 3 yr daughter having mild version of pdd-nos. it is an awful feeling…. dont know what caused it… BUT i also had that gut feeling since she was a very young baby that something wasnt totally on par as with other babies.

    Im now going to an OT for a second opinion… but I know that helpless feeling. I’ve been through it myself. At the end of the day, they are still your little girl/boy that you have always loved – now you can just help them better!

Leave a Reply

